Happy Blogiversary to ME!!!!

I can hardly believe it’s been a year since I started this blog.   The format has changed since that first post but it’s still all about the pictures for me.   I can’t say I’m learning and improving by leaps and bounds but I am still plugging away at it. 

To be honest, sometimes this blog seems a bit like a chore rather than fun and games.   Other times it is a blast!   I still love taking pictures and I am so very grateful for a specific subject each week.  It pushes me to think and be creative, but more importantly it makes me want to improve my skills – not just snap a good or okay picture.  

I’ve had my ups and downs with the blog, even considered shutting it down on more than one occasion.   Then I force myself to take a few pictures for the photo challenge and before you know it, I’m all excited about it again.   Not so much the blog itself really but just taking pictures.   I know that I will NEVER be a professional photographer and I really don’t want to be a professional.   But I do want to be able to take a picture that I am proud of and can call my own.   

Okay, enough of the jibber-jabber.

I’ve been a little behind on my submissions to Shutterboo’s photo challenge but hope to be back in the swing of things now.   Week 32’s subject was “lines” and quite frankly I just drew a blank (get it? blank line, hahaha)  when it came to ideas.   Finally I settled on this submission, late but nevertheless completed.

While I’m not just busting at the seams with happiness over it, it works and I can call that week done.  I actually wanted to photograph a line of people waiting to get in the bathroom but just couldn’t seem to pull that one off .  Oh well. 

Next up for Week 33 was “urban”, again blank.  I must be going through a photo slump.   It would have been nice to venture into downtown Nashville for a little random photo shoot but that didn’t work out.   So I settled for taking a picture of the hospital building I work in.   I wasn’t crazy about the idea but then I took the picture and

loved it!   The symmetry makes me happy (that’s how I scrapbook too – symmetrical) and the additional reflection in the glass adds to the symmetry making me love this picture!  

Week 34 is “abstract” – what?  How in the world do you photograph abstract?   Well this certainly will be challenging.   Wish me luck!  Talk to you next issue!  

In celebration of my blogivesary here are a few of my favorite pictures from over the past year!  Hope you enjoy the look back

Kim

Gravel Road – my first upload and still a favorite!

still love my splash cup too!!!

You know I had to put one of my Rileigh girl in here!!!!

And what would the year have been like without our little friend the cicada?

One thought on “Happy Blogiversary to ME!!!!

  1. I may not comment a lot but I do love getting this! Your perspective and creativity with your pictures is always interesting. Don’t quit!! It was cool to look at some of your favorites. However, I think my favorite of Riliegh is the one called “motion”, I think. I love how she’s soaring through the air!
    Keep up the good work!
    Pam <

Leave a Reply

