Cold and Dreary

The cold and dreary days of winter are beginning to get to me.   The snow and cold weather seemed to start earlier than normal this year.   We have had an unusual amount of snowfall here and frankly I’m over it!   Give me some sunshine and warmth please!   I think I may have that SAD thing – you know, Seasonal Affective Disorder.   Some of you probably thought I had a disorder all along and just didn’t know what to call it, well now you know!

So in an effort to cheer myself up and get over the gloomies, I’ve signed up to participate in a couple of weekly photo challenges.   This can be pretty challenging when the snow keeps you from wandering too far from home.    Especially since I don’t think too many things in my home are particularly photogenic.  But I guess that is where the creativity comes in, huh?  If you’re interested in joining the challenges the info is below.

The first challenge I’m joining in with is very low key and pretty much anything goes.  You can upload as many pictures as you like AND you can upload to any specific challenge number at anytime.   This really gives you lots of room to think about the subjects and post things a few weeks later if you come across the perfect shot.   The challenge is at www.splitcoaststampers.com under the photography section at the right hand side of the screen.  Some of you cardmakers and scrapbookers are probably familiar with this website.  It’s a great place to go for inspiration for lots of crafting ideas.   About 6 months ago I discovered the photography section and I’ve been hovering around it ever since.  This year I decided to participate on a regular basis.   This weeks subject is “Sing, Sing a Song” -a picture that makes you think about a song or song title.  My first picture to post is from a scrapbook layout we just finished in club and is perfect for this subject.  Take a look

The second picture I’m posting was a setup.   Here’s a little background.  I have this funny looking little one-eyed monster sitting on my desk at work and when you squeeze it’s foot, it sings “Sugar, awww honey, honey” from the Archies, only its not the Archies singing.  It’s someone like me singing who can’t carry a tune in a bucket.  It’s pretty cute.   Anyway, my picture is really more the second part of the song “Honey, aww sugar, sugar”.

It was really fun trying to come up with something that really represented the song.   That may be a little backwards since the song inspired the picture rather than the picture inspiring the song.  But who cares, right, it’s just for fun.

The second challenge I’m participating in is a bit more structured.   She really wants you to learn and push yourself.  When the subject is announced  you have the next week to come up with your picture.  Creativity is a plus in your shot.   She definitely is inspiring me to compose my shots better and really think outside the box.    It’s challenging and that’s a big part of why I like it.    Her website is www.shutterboo.com  I missed the first two week’s subjects which were “electricity” and “joy” but put in a wimpy response to the third week which was “control”.   This week is “colorful” and I think I have a couple of pretty good shots.  See what you think.

Isn’t that colorful?   I really like it.  Those are  my Stampin’ Up! pastels (chalks). 

And my colorful Stampin’ Up! markers.    My first thought for “colorful” was to go to a paint store and take pictures of the wall of paint samples but that just didn’t happen.  Partly because I’m trying to hibernate through winter with this SAD thing and all.   Of course that is self diagnosed.   There are a couple of things that are keeping me going during this SAD time of my life – one is a girlfriend/scrapbooking weekend in Pigeon Forge in just 4 days!!!!!   The other is a week long trip to the beach with the girls in June!

Ah, yes, I think I might survive winter after all!

Kim

One thought on “Cold and Dreary

Leave a Reply

