OMgoodness!

Here I go!   My first ever blog!  This is both exciting and scary.  But then again how scary can it be, it’s just a blog and no one expects me to be perfect, or at least they shouldn’t.  I hope this continues to be as much fun in the future has it has been getting started today. 

My main goal for setting up this blog is to inspire myself (and hopefully others) to learn more about my camera and taking more pictures and better pictures.   For those of you who don’t know, I have a Nikon D60 DSLR.   I’m a bit intimated by it because I’ve never had a SLR before this one, but I’ve had it for a year and a half now.  It takes really great pictures but I feel I don’t use it near enough or know nearly enough about it.   They say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, I just hope this dog is not too old to learn a few new camera tricks.

I plan to post on this blog what I am going to call “shout outs” for pictures on a particular topic.   The plan (and I may be a little over zealous at this point) is to post a new shout out every two weeks, people will take pictures regarding the shout-out subject and post their favorite 1 or 2 pictures to my flickr group which can be found here http://www.flickr.com/groups/kimyjos_photo_world/.   You will need a yahoo account and then just search for my group by name Kimyjos_photo_world or at least I hope it works that way.  Since I’ve never done this before I can only hope that it works the way I think it does.   This may be a slow process getting started but hopefully it will get better as I learn how to blog, how to use a flickr account and more about my camera.  

The first “Shout Out” will be posted tomorrow Sunday August 22, 2010. 

Let me know what you think about my blog and my photo challenge for myself.   Remember though, I’m still in the process of setting up the blog so I’m sure it still looks a bit rough around the edges.

Thanks for reading,

Kimyjo

Leave a Reply

